Tuesday, January 06, 2009

GoogleBot, Firefox and Malware?

Received the following comments:

  • qlobetrotter said...

    HI, have been visiting your site for a while and really appreciate the posting. However, SINCE TWO NIGHTS AGO, YOUR SITE HAS BEEN BRANDED AS a reported attack site. so am letting you know about this.

    regards Q

Many thanks for your comments. Blogspot belongs to Google and currently Google runs its Google Webmaster Tool Googlebot on it.

And if you are a firefox user my site is currently being flagged! (I was not aware of this issue until I ran firefox on another pc on Friday)


And for some strange reason googlebot is saying that my site MAY be distributing malware!

Here's the screenshot of my google dashboard.

The screenshot above is clickable.

Now I have some ads running on my blog. Simple issue for consideration is that if the ads are causing malware, why is googlebot only flagging that single webpage from my site?

Why is this page, http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/2008/12/fedex-sees-weaker-global-economic.html, getting flagged?

There is even no external links on that page!

So what gives?

As you can see, I have already requested a review from Google. (I asked for the request since last Friday and as you can see all I got was "Status of the last badware appeal for this site: A review for this site is still being processed. Please check back later."


Hence I google the phrase 'googlebot; malware"... and here's a posting worth seeing: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1011035&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

As it is, I am pretty sure that my site runs no badware or malware! And I get no such error on my windows explorer. So what I did on the firefox was I clicked on options and under the security tab, I unchecked the second box "Tell me if the site I'm visiting is a suspected attack site".

Anyway, I hope I get my just reply from Google Webmaster Tools soon.


VampireM said...

You may not be posting malware, but maybe one or some of your ads may be doing so, or at least reported to be doing so.

Moolah said...

Many thanks.

I reckon I might have found the answer here: http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Webmasters/thread?tid=5d29eebcc2bba55d&hl=en

Many thanks again for you made me search the web again for solution.

Moolah said...

Issue fixed!

Yeah!!! :)